Sunday, January 13, 2013

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Ninety Seven)

The Dirty Nil/Northern Primitive Split 7" cover art

1. The Dirty Nill - Zombie Eyed (Indoor Shoes)
This is The Dirty Nil's contribution to a split a seven inch single released this week which features a much more subdued track from Northern Primitive on the other side. There's nothing subdued about this track though. It constantly screams at you for more volume and I can verify it sounds damn fine at the point when your speakers are about to turn into dust. There are only three hundred copies of the record available so don't dawdle.

Beach Fossils - Clash The Truth (2013)

2. Beach Fossils - Clash The Truth (Captured Tracks)
This is the title track from the new Beach Fossils album which is absolutely brilliant and should be purchased immediately upon it's glorious release on 19th February.

White Blush cover art

3. White Blush - Jolene (Self Released)
A great track from a great E.P. from White Blush (aka Carol Rhyu). It's available from the White Blush Bandcamp Page for a price of your choosing.

4. Imugem Orihasam - Untitled 280.3 (Statik Entertainment)
Taken from a four track E.P. called "The Nippon Express Record 1" which is the first record in a two record series.

Shit Talk cover art

5. French Club - In The Basement (Self Released)
Taken from the Ohio bands debut album "Shit Talk" which can be downloaded from their Bandcamp site.

6. Magiks - Lullaby (Self Released)
A nice version of The Cure classic from the last century when people didn't need to be permanently secreted to a phone to survive.

Dead pop stars cover art

7. Flies On You - Dead Pop Stars (Self Released)
...while we're on the subject of cover versions this one came to my attention last week. It's by those Flies On You chaps who released their debut album "Nothing To Write Home About" back in September, a track from which can be found in last weeks Fodder. This is their version of Altered Images "Dead Pop Stars" which was a hit way back in 1981.

8. 214 - Submanouvers (Frustrated Funk Holland)
This is the title track from a new twelve inch E.P. on the wonderfully titled Dutch label Frustrated Funk.

Huntronik cover art

9. Huntronik - No Deceiver (Self Released)
Huntronik are a trio from Brooklyn who very kindly sent me their debut album which is released this very week. The good news is you too can download the whole thing from their Bandcamp Page. I'm sick of typing the words "for a price of your choosing" but that's exactly what it is.

Image of Lotus Fucker - Forever My Fighting Spirit LP
10. Lotus Fucker - Thread From Heaven (Katorga Works)
Lovely stuff from an album (very short but it does contain ten tracks) called "Forever My Fighting Spirit" which you can download in it's entirety from the Katorga Works website.

11 773 / Circuit Board Tears cover art

11. Torpa - Circuit Board Tears (Self Released)
I was thinking just the other night that we must be due a new Torpa track very soon and the very next day two appear. I could easily listen to this track all night long, one of his finest yet I think. As usual both tracks are available from Torpa's Bandcamp site which is rapidly becoming saturated with excellent tunes, all of which can be downloaded free and all of which need to be heard. Probably my favorite electronic artist of last year.

Psychotic Syndrone cover art

12. The Citradels - Here To Know (Self Released)
Taken from the album "Psychotic Syndrone" which can be downloaded in full from their Bandcamp page.

1 comment: