Saturday, December 29, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Ninety Five)

Polysics – Weeeeeeeeee!!! (2012)

1. Polysics - Lucky Star (Ki/oon)
I can't tell you a lot about this album other than it's a track from the latest album from Japanese nutters Polysics. It's called "Weeeeeeeeee!!!" and is pretty damn good. The only advice I would give you is to play it at the loudest volume you can get away with. 

2. Moon Wiring Club - Make Yourself At Home (Gecophonic)
This is a track from the vinyl version of the new Moon Wiring Club album "Today Bread, Tomorrow Secrets" which as is now customary with The Club is completely different to the CD version. I wish more artists would follow this trait, especially My Bloody Valentine whose new album is now allegedly finished and ready be unleashed at any moment. 

Dreams You'll Never Find-EP (2012) cover art

3. The Arctic Flow - Just Say Hello (Dufflecoat)
It's been a while since we had an new record from The Arctic Flow so this new four track E.P. is very welcome indeed. It's called "Dreams You'll Never Find" and is available to purchase from the Dufflecoat Records website on CD.

4. Alexander D'niel - Klona [Truncate Remix] (Ear To Ground Records)
Great stuff from Argentinian artist Alexander D'niel with his first release on UK label Ear To The Ground. The other side of the record features two versions of a track called "Tetroid" which is also pretty fine.

5. Foxygen - San Francisco (Jagjaguwar)
Taken from the album "We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors Of Peace And Magic" which will be released in January on Jagjaguwar.

Shy Shirley cover art
6. Boys - Escape Plan (Self Released)
This was actually released back in the summer but I've only just heard it. It's from an album called "Shy Shirley" which you can download free from their Bandcamp Page.

Beach Fossils - Clash The Truth (2013)

7. Beach Fossils - Careless (Captured Tracks)
2013 is already shaping up into a pretty smart year. This is a track from the new Beach Fossils album which will be released on Captured Tracks on 19th February and is very bloody good. Apparently it was the first time they had recorded in a studio and that might be one reason they have produced such a great sounding record. It's called "Clash The Truth" and will certainly impress a lot of people. Personally I was just hoping for a good record and what I heard was bordering on a masterpiece.

(is it) cover art

8. Dead Mellotron - Weird Dreams (Self Released)
Taken from the "As Is" E.P. which can be downloaded from the Baltimore bands Bandcamp Page.

9. The Reed Fags - Molly (Lionheart)
This is a track from the Finnish bannds new E.P. "Places To Hide In" which will be released soon on Lionheart Records.

covers cover art

10. Takashi Miyaki - If Not For You (Self Released
A brilliant version of "If Not For You" taken from the Los Angeles bands recent "Covers" album which can be downloaded in full from their Bandcamp Page.

The Wolfhounds "Cheer Up"

11. The Wolfhounds - Cheer Up (Odd Box)
Everyone seems to be reforming these days and mostly with disastrous results musically. There is even a new Pulp track knocking around! I still can't take Jarvis seriously with a beard, perhaps because he looks like a mad schoolteacher. And then there's My Bloody Valentine whose new album is expected any day now and better be bloody good or there will be trouble.
This is the new single from The Wolfhounds who released a lot of good records twenty odd years ago and surprisingly have released another. This is one of three tracks on a seven inch single available through Odd Box Records and even the most miserable bastard can't deny this is a cracking tune. 

That's Just Fine / I'm Gonna Cross The River Of Jordan by Spacemen 3 / Sun Araw

12. Spacemen 3 - That's Just Fine (The Great Pop Supplement)
This is taken from a split seven inch single which was released earlier in the year on The Great Pop Supplement label. Only one thousand were pressed and as you might imagine are now pretty much impossible to come by. On one side you get this Spacemen 3 track which originally appeared as an instrumental on the B-side to their 1988 single "Take Me To The Other Side". This version however has vocals and as far as I'm aware hasn't been officially released before. The other side of this very attractive red and clear coloured slab of loveliness contains a track from Sun Araw which will feature in next weeks Fodder. I wouldn't be surprised if copies of this record are already changing hands for silly amounts of money. 


  1. GermanFALLfan11:18 am

    Permission Denied :/
    someone hates us

  2. Anonymous11:42 am

    Gone already! This must be a record for MediaFire :(

  3. I think it was the Beach Fossils track, because it offered other legal places you may purchase it.

  4. Graham3:15 pm

    Almost tempted *not* to buy the Beach Fossils new album because of this... The record industry really doesn't get it does it?

  5. Shouldn't be the Beach Fossils album as "Careless" is the cleared track. Anyway should be all fine and working again now.

  6. Anonymous5:08 pm

    that worked, thanks Kris! Much appreciated.

  7. Graham6:58 pm

    Yep, that works perfectly Kris. Thank you!