Saturday, November 10, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Eighty Eight)

Download Zip File

Dirty Shirt

1. Metz - Dirty Shirt (Sub Pop)
A track from a new seven inch single on Sub Pop from the superb METZ. Neither track on this single is on the Canadian band's recent self titled debut album. The other track on here is called "Leave Me Out" and is also a bit of a monster.

BG030 | Tougher Than A Soldier's Boots cover art

2. Songs For Walter - Tougher Than A Soldiers Boots (Bleeding Gold)
This is the first of two tracks on a new digital single on Bleeding Gold Records by Songs For Walter who released their debut seven inch on the label earlier in the year. I'm ashamed to admit I don't own a copy of that but judging by these two tracks I soon will.


3. I'm Not A Band - Time Is On Fire [Steam Machine Remix] (AdP)
This is a particularly fine remix of the new I'm Not A Band single "Time Is On Fire" which is taken from their new album "BANDBAND" which was released in August on AdP.

Winterrim (an introduction)

4. Autumns Grey Solace - Mystify (Projekt)
Taken from the album "Winrerrim" which is a digital only compilation of Autumns Grey Solace tracks. That voice is just heavenly.

J09-M12 cover art

5. Scott Weatherall - 8.11 (Self Released)
One of my favorite tracks on Scott's album "J09-M12" which can be downloaded full and free from his Bandcamp page.

A Wrenched Virile Lore

6. Mogwai - Rano Pano [Klad Hest - Mogwai Is My Dick RMX] (Rock Action)
November 19th will see the release of Mogwai's "A Wrenched Virile Lore" album which is a collection of remixes of tracks from their "Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will" album. I'm always skeptical about remix albums largely because there have been so many terrible ones over the years but I am pleased to report that this one is pretty much shit hot with remixes from the likes of Justin K Broadrick, The Soft Moon, and Tim Hecker to name but three. I think sometimes when people remix records they worry too much about whether or not anyone will actually like it which is usually a mistake resulting in bland, boring mixes which sound like everyone else's shit. The way to do a remix is just to be creative and do something which sounds great. This record is a collection of such works. It will be available on CD or double vinyl both of which can be ordered from the Mogwai website.

7. Zatsuon - Life End (Distort Reality)
A blistering track from the New York bands new eight track seven inch single on Distort Reality.

8. Oreaganomics - How To Strip For Your Wife-An Election Day Medley (Self Released)
Another brilliant new track from those slightly strange Oreaganomics creatures.

Psychic Hex cover art

9. Vampire Slayer - Desert Chasms (Indian Gold)
This is a track from the new Vampire Slayer album "Psychic Hex" which will be released on cassette and digital download on 26th November.


10. The Soft Pack - Saratoga (Mexican Summer)
Taken from the L.A. bands new album "Strapped" which appears to be getting good reviews everywhere at the moment.

Basic House - I'm Not A Heaven Man cover art

11. Basic House - Perishing (Opal Tapes)
This is superb. It's the first track on a cassette by Basic House which basically of Stephen Bishop who is the main man behind the Opal Tapes label on which this is their sixth release. It's an album called "I'm Not A Heaven Man" and seems to be sold out just about everywhere but you can still purchase the download here.

12. Potty Mouth - Superfriends (Feeble Minds/Puzzle Pieces/Ride The Snake)
Another vinyl release which is giving me pleasure at the moment is the debut E.P. by Potty Mouth and I can't really tell you much about it as I know bugger all  except for the fact that it contains six trackks and makes a lovely noise. What more can you ask for? Interestingly this record seems to be a split release between no less than three labels. How that works I have no idea I'm just glad someone has put this record out.