Monday, November 05, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Eighty Seven)

Ace Bushy Striptease return with a new album!

1. Ace Bushy Striptease - More Parts Per Milijas (Odd Box)
Great stuff from the new Ace Bushy Striptease album which is released on Odd Box Records this week. I have to say this album has formed quite a large part of my listening this week, there's just so much going on you don't get it all on first listen. The album is called "Outside It's Cold Just Like The Inside Of Your Body" but don't let that put you off. It is available on blue vinyl, limited to just 300 copies and before you all go off panic buying turntables you do get a download code so you don't actually have to play it (but you should as nothing holds more beauty than a coloured vinyl record on a turntable but don't tell my wife I said that).

08 Insect / Hooked cover art

2. Torpa - Insect (Self Released)
Yet another new tune from Torpa who seems to be churning out releases faster than something really fast. If you've missed the last few you really need to go to Torpa's Bandcamp Page and catch up because there's some great stuff in there especially "Squarelid" which was one of the tracks on the last release.

Cooper's Dream EP cover art

3. Suburban Living - I Don't Fit In (Self Released)
Taken from their "Coopers Dream" E.P. which you can download for $5 from their Bandcamp Page.

Feedback Powers The Sun cover art

4. Spring Clock Wonder - Feedback Powers The Sun (Self Released)

5. Sambassadeur - Memories (Labrador)
I've been waiting for a new Sambassadeur record for what seems like ages. This is the Swedish bands first new release since their brilliant "European" album a couple of years ago. "Memories" will be released as a double A-side seven inch single with "Hours Away" through Labrador Records on 20th November. It will be limited to just five hundred copies but you can pre-order your copy on the Labrador Website.

cd061 sleeve

6. The Sugargliders - Letter From A Lifeboat (Matinee)
This is a track from a new Sugargliders compilation called "A Nest With A View" which brings together tracks from the ten singles the Australian band released between 1990 and 1994 on Sarah Records in the UK. If you've never heard The Sugargliders this record should be your priority this month.

Silicon Ballet

7. Silicon Ballet - Slowly Slowly (Rainboot)
New single from Silicon Valley which will be released on 19th November.

1.10 cover art

8. Scott Weatherall - 1.10 (Self Released)
This is a track which appeared back in July but I've only just got to hear it. It's one of many available on Scott Weatherall's Bandcamp page including the album "J09-M12" which I have only just downloaded and plan to listen to this very afternoon.

Thea cover art

9. Splitter - The Belt Of Venus (Self Released)
A track from Splitter's fourth album which can be downloaded from Bandcamp for a very small amount of money. Very nice indeed.

10. Toy - Dead And Gone [Andrew Weatherall Remix]
I know this mix has been knocking around for a while but it seems not everyone has heard it so...

the boy lives cover art

11. Ghost Carriage Phantoms - Yer Boots (Marketstall Records)
This is a track from an album called "The Boy Lives" which is according to the press release is the first installment in a series of releases from Merthyr Tidfil songwriter Michael James Hall. On the strength of this offering I'm really looking forward to the rest.

12. Ghost Of Chance - Wooden Tambourine (Obscure Me)
A track which I originally included in the ill fated Pod Fodder 186 which for some reason kept getting taken down by the might Mediafire. Hopefully this one will not face the same fate.
This is a track from the New Haven bands debut E.P. on Obscure Me. It's called the "Paddleboat E.P." and will be available on vinyl from 15th November.