Friday, October 05, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Eighty Three)

1. Sunglasses - Cold Shoulder (Self Released)
New single from Brooklyn duo Sunglasses who will release their debut album "Wildlife" on 13th November.

Pipe Dreams

2. Whirr - Toss (Tee Pee)
For some reason it's taken me far too long to get a copy of the debut album from Whirr (formerly Whirl and I'm glad they changed their name because there was another band of the same name from years ago) which was released quite a few months ago. It's called "Pipe Dreams" and is quite stunning if you like a lot of distorted guitars in your music and let's face it the ice caps would probably melt a lot faster without distorted guitars. If you were paying attention to last weeks Fodder  you would have noticed the Whirr track taken from the current E.P. "Part Time Punks Sessions" which you can download for a price of your choice from their Bandcamp Page. Two of the tracks on that appear on this album in slightly different form along with a further eight tracks, non of which will let you down. "Pipe Dreams" was released on Tee Pee Records back in March and although you're probably all over this record and I'm the last sad sack in the world to hear it I can't recommend it highly enough.

Fantasm Planes

3. Clark - Com Re-Touch/Pocket For Jack (Warp)
Taken from the new six track Clark record which features re-workings of three tracks from the electronic masters recent "Iradelphic" album along with three possibly new tracks exclusive to this release.

New Relics

4. Errors - Ammaboa Glass (Rock Action)
This week has seen the release of the new Errors album on Rock Action of Glasgow. The band are currently celebrating the release with a quick dash around Britain.

6th October - Stirling, Tollbooth
10th October - Manchester, Soup Kitchen
11th October - Norwich, Sound and Vision Festival
12th October - Newcastle. Hoults Yard
13th October - Edinburgh, Electric Circus
17th October - Nottingham, Bodega
18th October - London, Heaven
19th October - Bristol, Exchange
20th October - Cardiff, SWN Festival

Out Of The Black

5. Boys Noize - Missile (Boys Noize)
Taken from the album "Out Of The Black" which is released on Boys Noize Recordings this week.

Light and Glow cover art

6. Los Jardines De Bruselas - Why Are We Here? (Self Released)
Taken from the Buenos Aires bands new self released album "Light And Glow" which can be downloaded from their Bandcamp page for whatever price to deem appropriate. Alternately there is a limited edition of one hundred CD's available for $12 each also from Bandcamp.

Fondation Sonore 01
Ancient Methods vs Kareem - Exstinctio Conscientia 
Limited edition vinyl 500 copies, 180g colored vinyl
Vinyl and digital will be distributed by Hardwax
Also available at :
Coming soon ! 
7. Ancient Methods - Zealots [Ancient Methods Interpretation] (Fondation Sonore)

At The Down-Turned Jagged  Rim Of The Sky

8. Jessica Bailiff - Take Me To The Sun (Kranky)
Taken from the new Jessica Bailiff album "At The Down-Turned Jagged Rim Of The Sky" which I think I'm right in saying is her first new album for six years. Let's hope we don't have to wait more than half a decade for the next.

9. I'm In You - Ex Cult (Self Released)
I can't tell you very much about this track other than it's the first taste of the forthcoming album "Trust" which will be released imminently.

Come Down cover art

10. Glish - Future Things (Self Released)
This fine track is one of five an a new E.P. from the New Orleans band and is available to download from their Bandcamp page along with last years "Blast Off" E.P. which I haven't heard myself yet but look forward to doing so later.

11. Goosebumps - I Don't Know/Shit Needle (Burn Books)
This is one of six rather noisy tracks on a seven inch single from New York band Goosebumps which is available from Burn Books Records. I say available but there is every possibility that it might have sold out. If you see a copy, grab it!

12. STL - Your Turn (Smallville)
One of three superb tracks on a new 12" entitled "Flying Saucer Attack" which is available now on Smallville Records.

1 comment: