Saturday, September 15, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Eighty)

Bitching Cassettes

1. Runaround Kids - Into The Light (Bitching Cassettes)
This is a track from what will be the second release on Philophobia Music's new imprint Bitching Cassettes which you won't be surprised to learn release cassettes. This release is a split single featuring Runaround Kids and The Spills and is limited to just 100 copies which will be released on 15th October.

2. Perfect Pop - Dancing Shoes (Self Released)
This is a track from the Toronto artist's new six track E.P. which can be downloaded free from his Bandcamp page.

MH-080 Dying Machines - Nicht Sprechen

3. Dying Machines- Await You (Mush)
Some moments of complete loveliness from the debu Dying Machines E.P. "Nicht Sprechen" which is available now on Mush Records.

Winter Garden Light cover art

4. Dot Dash - Countdown (The Beautiful Music)
How good id this? It's a track from the new Dot Dash album "Winter Garden Light" which has been released this week on Canadian label The Beautiful Music. It's the follow up to last years impressive debut "Spark Flame Ember Ash" which was also featured on this site. The new record however is even better there truly is nothing on here you could consider disappointing. I just wish they would come over to this side of the Atlantic for a few dates. The album can be purchased as a download from their Bandcamp page or as a physical CD from The Beautiful Music website although that doesn't seem to be working today, a bit like most of the links on this site which were taken down last week by some cretin. 

5. Guilty Ghosts - All Flesh Is Grass
This is the first taste of the new Guilty Ghosts E.P. "Trespasser" which will be released on 2nd October as a digital download with a limited edition physical release, although what exactly that consists of  I have no idea.

And IV (Inertia)

6. Grischa Lichtenberger - Uu78 (Raster Norton)
Taken from the album "And. IV" which will be released on 1st October on Raster Norton.

Namesake cover art

7. Ten Kens - Bliss
Taken from the Toronto bands third album "Namesake" which was released just last week.

5 September - Paddy Flaherty’s Irish Pub, Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
27 September - The Atria, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
28 September - The Nite Owl, London, Ontario, Canada
13 October - The Garrison, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
6 November - The Saint, Asbury Park, NJ, USA
7 November - Pianos, New York, NY, USA
11 November - Don Pedro’s, Brooklyn, NY, USA
13 November - Sidebar, Baltimore, MD, USA
17 November - The Smiling Moose, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
18 November - Bernies Distillery, Columbus, OH, USA
19 November - MOTR, Cincinnati, OH, USA
21 November - Fubar Lounge, St. Louis, MO, USA

True Avenue

8. Anything After - Medicine  (Candy Shots)
This record was actually released back in April but I've only just got a copy. It's the bands third album following "There's Something Warm"and "Another Way Of Saying" both of which can be downloaded free from the bands Facebook Page.


9. Toy - Left Myself Behind (Heavenly)
What a great record. This track comes from the debut album from the soon to be huge TOY, or to be precise from the BBC Sessions CD which accompanies the album should you buy it from Rough Trade. The record was be released on Heavenly Recordings last week and will certainly be regarded as one of the best debuts of 2012.
You can catch them live at:-

Fri 19 Oct Sheffied, Plug
Sat 20 Oct Birmingham, HMV Temple
Tues 23 Oct Norwich, Waterfront Studio
Wed 24 Oct London, Heaven
Thurs 25 Oct Southampton, Talking Heads
Sat 27 Oct Brighton, Green Door Store
Sun 28 Oct Manchester, Ruby Lounge
Mon 29 Oct Newcastle, Cluny
Tues 30 Oct Glasgow, Sleazy’s

Emergency Stairway
10. Thought Broadcast - (Editions Mego)
No sooner have we got over Thought Broadcast's impressive self titled debut album released just a few months ago on Olde English Spelling Bee than another album appears this time on the Editions Mego label. That's quick work for you, if only The Fall could work that fast! The new record then is more of the same. Pure dubby electronic bliss and the beauty is you never quite know whats going to happen next. "Emergency Stairway" is available on all formats from Editions Mego but you just know the vinyl is going to sound simply superb.


11. Cuddly Shark - Overpriced (Armellodie)
Glasgow band Cuddly Shark will release their new E.P. "Body Mass Index" through Armellodie Records on 8th October. 
"The Body Mass Index EP is the first new material from the band since said album, and continues to show the trio brimming with punk attitude and spilling over with melodic brilliance. Reaffirming that they will never have an ounce of pretentious hip- fat on them. The bands forthcoming album, The Road To Ugly is due for release in January next year."

Ten Thousand Years Won't Save Your Life cover art

12. Hammock - Ten Thousand Years Won't Save Your Life (Self Released)
This is the first taste of the new Hammock album "Departure Songs" which I can tell you absolutely nothing about save for it will probably be released in October and may or may not be a double album. A lot of use I am!