Sunday, May 27, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Sixty Four)

Girl Meets Manifesto cover art

1. Elfs In Bloom - I See Your Face And Feel Ecstasy (Canata)
This is a brilliant record. It's a new release on Canata Records by Japanese group Elfs In Bloom and can be downloaded from their Bandcamp Page

Coiffer un ours

2. Whourkr - Coiffer un ours (Ad Noiseam)
This is a track from Whourkr's third album "4247 Snare Drums" which was released last week on Ad Noiseam. It is available as a clear vinyl double album which also includes a CD as a bonus although what sort of person, when presented with two gorgeous plates of vinyl and a compact disc would use the CD for anything other than a coffee mat.


3. Lower Dens - Hours (Ribbon Music)
One of the extra tracks on the new Lower Dens single "Brains" which featured on this site a while ago when it was simply one of the best tracks on their album "Nootropics" which was released last month.

4. Alan Watts - Lee's Child (Blackburn Recordings)
What a great tune. It's a track from the new Alan Watts E.P. "...Is The Fantasy Band".

5. Tim Chaplin - Daisy Chain Fridays (Bleeding Gold)
This is a track from a five track cassette by Tim Chaplin who I must is new to me. The sound on this sounds rather over to the left hand side. I hope it's meant to be like that.


6. Carter Tutti Void - V3 (Mute)
When I first listened to this album I was completely unaware that it was actually recorded live. The audience noises after the tracks may have been a slight giveaway but you, or at least I simply don't associate this type of electronic music with being produced live in front of living people. That said I bet it sounded fantastic erupting from a big sound system. Anyway this release consists of four tracks, entitled V1-V4 and comes in this strange sleeve which appears to do weird things if you look at it and waggle your head about.

7. Sad Boys - Bondage (Demo)
What a lovely racket. This is a track from a demo tape which I would love to give you in it's entirety but they are attempting to sell them so if you want to hear the other eleven tracks you'll have to buy the damn thing which you can do by sending an e-mail to and saying please although there is every chance another track might appear in these pages before we are very much older. 

8. Codeine - Atmosphere (Numero Group)
An excellent version of Joy Division's masterpiece which occurs on a six album (three CD's) set of Codeine reissues. I had forgotten how good their "Frigid Stars" album of 1991 was (and still is). This is one of many extra tracks which include Peel Sessions, demo's and whatever else could be found. So often when albums are reissued with extra tracks you have to wonder why they bothered as it quickly becomes obvious why they were not released at the time but the stuff on here really is well worth a listen.


9. Allo Darlin' - Northern Lights (Fortuna Pop)
A great track from the Sheffield bands second album "Europe" which was released a couple of weeks ago on Fortuna Pop. There is a limited edition cassette version of the album (released by Fika Recordings) of which there are just 100 copies. All of which comes in a hand made sleeve with a 16 page bound lyrics booklet, a recipe for Elizabeth's mum's Sacher Torte, a bag of Allo Darljeelin tea and of course a digital download of the album on account of the fact that no-one can play the bloody thing.

Down The Deuce cover art

10. Fulhäst - Prison Pizza (Fika)
Talking of cassettes, here's another one. Also released by Fika it's by an artist called Fulhäst who is issuing his cassette ingeniously disguised as a gameboy. Again there are only 100 copies and you will also get a download of the album so don't panic. If this carries on I'm going to have to have a new tape machine installed in the car.

11. Tango In The Attic - Easybones [Inspired Flight Remix] 

12. The Gentle Isolation - Let's Go Slow (Dufflecoat)
This is a track from a new E.P. on Dufflecoat from Japanese band The Gentle Isolation. It's one of five on their new E.P. "It Started With An April Shower".

No comments:

Post a Comment