Saturday, May 05, 2012

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Sixty One)

1. The Fall - Victrola Time (Cherry Red)
Is there any better way to kick anything than with a new record by The Fall. This is the a-side of a seven inch single, limited to just 1000 copies released on Record Store Day a week or so ago. Initially the mighty M.E. Smith shrieks at a pitch similar to the sound you might imagine he would make if some brave soul tried to nick his pint. The b-side is a live version of that family favorite "Taking Off" from last years impressive "Ersatz G.B." although I really like this version and will, memory permitting include it in next weeks Fodder. ...oh yeah , the whole thing comes under the banner "Night Of The Humerons" in case you were slightly confused by the above picture.

2. Manorlady - Lines In The Corner Of Your Face (Part Keeler)
The first taste of Manorlady's second album "Ego Compressor" which will be released on 15th June on what I think is their own Part Keeler label. This is a record I'm really looking forward to.

Echoes And Rhymes

3. The Primitives - Single Girl (Elefant)
I had my reservations when I heard that the new Primitives album was going to be a covers album of pretty obscure sixties tracks. The main problem with covers albums of course is that usually the track listings are quite predictable and the songs familiar. I am pleased to report therefore that The Primitives have not fallen into that trap in fact if you didn't know it was a covers album you may well not recognize any of the tracks at all. From a personal point of view it's just great to hear Tracy's voice on records once again and to be frank she could sing pretty much anything and still find space in my ipod. The new album is called "Echoes And Rhymes" and is available as from Monday 7th May on Elefant Records.

4. Shackleton - Music For The Quiet Hour Part One (Woe To The Septic Heart!)
This is the first of five "Parts" on the new Shackleton album "Music For The Quiet Hour" which was released last month on Shackleton's own Woe To The Septic Heart Label.

5. Alan Watts - Africa Bats (Self Released)
Not a huge amount of information about this release. In fact whatever info there is is probably irrelevant because the band which currently celebrates s Alan Watts will probably have transformed themselves into something else by the time you read these words. In the last year they have already changed name (and possibly other things) three times and Alan Watts is where we currently are. This track is one of five tracks on a new E.P. called "...Is The Fantasy Band".

Kiss This (Vol. 0) cover art

6. MirĂ³ Belle - Penny's For Lame Thoughts (Bad Panda)
A track from a new E.P. called "Kiss This Vol 0" which can be downloaded free from the Bad Panda Recordings website.

The Echo Show

7. Yeti Lane - Dead Tired (Sonic Cathedral)
I've been meaning to include a track from this album for weeks but what due to having a memory slightly worse than the average apple never quite did it. Still better late than never as my old headmaster used to say before poking me in the eyeball with the sharp end of a pencil.
This then is the impressive sound made by Yeti Lane on their new (or at least it was at the beginning of March) album entitled "The Echo Show". The Paris based due will head over to the UK in June to play some gigs including a special Summer solstice show with Damo Suzuki on 21st June.

18th June - Brighton, Sticky Mike's Frog Bar
20th June - Manchester, Kraak
21st June - London, The Shacklewell Arms (with Damo Suzuki)
22nd June - Norwich Arts Center

8. Players To Be Named Later - The World On Tim (Self Released)
One of the most played records in the Waaah household this week is a six track E.P. by the well named Players To Be Named Later. It's not a lengthy exercise as only one track makes it beyond the two minute mark. I think everybody should own this E.P. and you could make it yours by popping across to their Bandcamp Page and relieving yourself of $3.99 of your hard earned wages. They say in the press release "Players To Be Named Later would very much love to be on the radio, but until they learn how to play their instruments, sing, and use their equipment properly, they will just have to put every ounce of heart and melody that they have into their overloaded records and hope for the best." Personally I think they should forget about using equipment properly or indeed learning how to sing because the noise they make is already impressive and would surely only be spoiled by competence.

I Had A Dream

9. White Poppy - In Over (Not Not Fun)
Taken from the album "I Had A Dream" which was released last month on Not Not Fun.

The Abandoned Reel cover art

10. Twin Library - Snow (Self Released)
This is another record you can acquire from the mighty Bandcamp. It's the new album by Canadian band Twin Library and really is a bit of a treat. How we ever survived without Bandcamp is a mystery. I was around in the late eighties early nineties and remember only too well the struggle of trying to find new music. Relying largely on the music press and the radio to bring bands to my attention, or visiting my local independent record shop and buying random imported seven inches from the States in the hope that they would make my dad explode with rage when I played them. I remember one particularly impressive explosion of temper when I played Bongwater's "Power Of Pussy" album which I thought was a great record. My Dad on the other hand considered it to be nothing less than hardcore pornography. Another record which did the trick was a Peel Session 12" by The Fall which had to be hidden under the bed for it's own protection in the end. The point is that nowadays the internet has made finding new music easier than brewing a pot of tea and Bandcamp is possibly the greatest resource of all enabling bands/artists to charge pretty much whatever they want for their work and have the opportunity to actually get paid or just give the stuff away free which lets's face it is a mighty way of getting people to hear your music. This album is one of those, well not actually free but you can pay what you like and hopefully you will.

Cross Country cover art

11. The Wind Up Birds - Cross Country (Sturdy)
This is one of three new tracks from the Leeds band on a new digital single which you can download from their Bandcamp page for a price of your choosing. Their long awaited debut album "The Land" will be released on Sturdy Records on 14th May.

12. 2econd Class Citizen - Stop To Wonder (Equinox)
This is a mighty record. It's the second album from 2nd Class Citizen and is a little bit good. Taken from the album "The Small Minority". It's called "The Small Minority" and will be available digitally from 18th May but if you can wait until 25th May you will be able to get your mitts on the double vinyl version.

No comments:

Post a Comment