Sunday, September 25, 2011

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Thirty)

Rock U Fest 2011 Digital Compilation Cover Art

1. Buxom Space Fish - When Dino-bots Attack (Self Released)
This is a track from a free digital sampler designed to portray the talents at the Rock U Fest which takes place in St Louis this month featuring forty-odd acts most of which are of the noisier variety but this is the track I keep coming back to, from the wonderfully monikered  Buxom Space Fish. You can download the compilation in full HERE.


2. Mood Rings - Promise Me Eternity (Double Phantom)
This is a track from the Atlanta band's new seven inch single which is available now on Double Phantom.

[spring of eternity] Cover Art

3. Sadsic - Sailing For Flowers/Green Civic Lessons (Self Released)
A bit late on this one but never mind. This is a track (or two) from the debut album by Sadsic which has been around since March and can be downloaded for a price of your choice from Sadsic's Bandcamp site along with two more EP's which have been released since and will shortly be gracing my ipod.


4. Mario Gonzalez - Help Me I Am In Heaven (Self Released)
First of all what a brilliant sleeve and secondly but most importantly what a great noise. This track is part of a seven track mini album/EP called "Disgusting" which can be purchased in full for a mere $1 from HERE.

Dyeing Lilies Brighter Colours Cover Art

5. Jesper Lundager - Flourish (Self Released)
This is a track from what is my favorite album at the moment. I call it an album but at just over twenty minutes for all eight tracks it's hardly longer than an EP but you know what they say about size not been everything. Every track on "Dyeing Lilies Brighter Colours" is quite simply a work of beauty and I urge you to listen to  this record at the first opportunity especially as you can buy it for whatever price you want to pay.

6. The Would Be's - Would Be Song (Decoy)
Another track from the Irish band's 1991 "Wonderful EP" which I have only just got a copy of.

7. The Twilight Sad - Kill It In The Morning (Fat Cat)
This is the first taster from The Twilight Sad's next album "No-One Can Ever Know" which will be released on Fat Cat next February. It will be preceded by a new single entitled "Sick" which will be released on seven inch vinyl and the usual digital formats on November 15th.

hippie speed ball Cover Art

8. High Pop - Drip From The Sea (Self Released)
Taken from the album "Hippy Speed Ball" which can be downloaded (or purchased on cassette) from the band's Bandcamp Page.

Ulrich Schnauss And Jonas Munk

9. Ulrich Schnauss & Jonas Monk - Chasing Rainbows (Pedigree Cuts)

Life Sux

10. Wavves - I Wanna Meet Dave Grohl (Ghost Ramp)
Taken from the excellent new album "Life Sux" which is released on their own Ghost Ramp label on 27th September. This track is particularly good and should really be played at ear splitting volume.

11. Carter Tanton - Horrorscope (Western Vinyl)
Taken from the album "Freeclouds" which will be released on the first of November on Western Vinyl. Carter Tanton will be on tour in October/November with War On Drugs.

Romantic Comedy Cover Art

12. Big Troubles - Minor Keys (Slumberland)
I've been looking forward to  a new Big Troubles record ever since their great debut album "Worry" last year. Well now they're back with another piece of magic. The new record is called "Romantic Comedy" and comes on lovely red vinyl if you buy it online from the Slumberland Records Website. You'll certainly be hearing more from this record.
pretty pretty

No comments:

Post a Comment