Thursday, June 02, 2011

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Twenty One)

1. Bad Banana - Cry About It (Puzzle Pieces)
This is one of my favourite records of the week. It's a seven inch single by Bad Banana which features four wonderful tracks of which this is the first. I'm not sure how easy it is to find a copy of this but it's well worth the effort.

Summer Stars Cover Art

2. Universe - Summer Stars (Self Released)
This is a new track from Universe which the band have kindly made available through their Bandcamp Page.

Go With Me

3. Seapony - Blue Star (Hardly Art)
This record has just about made my week. It's the new and to my knowledge first album by Seattle band Seapony who delighted us last year with their "Dreaming" single and now have a full album of treasures for us to fornicate over. It's called "Go With Me" and is available as of this week on Hardly Art Records.

4. Eels On Heels - Blank Skin (Self Released)
What a fantastic sound. This is the original version of the title track from the new E.P. which features remixes by Skeletonkids, We Have Band, Populous, Low Owl and Aaron. Gripping stuff.

In Vogue Spirit

5. Wet Hair - Echo Lady (De Stijl)
Taken from the album "In Vogue Spirit" which as you can see has a brilliant sleeve that looks even better after a bottle of wine. This is the first track on the album which for some reason I was't too keen on after the first listen but something made me pick it up again and it sounded like a different record. Yes the possibility exists that Nix has been playing tricks on me again, or maybe I'm just going a bit potty!

6. From Oceans To Autumn - The Flood (Silber)
This is a track from a new single by From Oceans To Autumn which has been made available by our good friends at Silber Records.

Hymns for the Careless Cover Art

7. Tiny Birds - Seaside Town (In The Winter) (Self Released)
This is brilliant. Tiny Birds come from London and have created a work of art in the form of their debut release. "Hymns For The Careless" which has really cheered me up ttis week. I always get a bit moody at the end of the football season with the knowlege that I'm going to have to wait a couple of months before I can watch York City underachieve again. This record might just help me through. You can download the whole thing for free from their Bandcamp Page but for the princely sum of five english pounds you could be the proud owner of beautiful hand crafted fold out CD which features exclusive designs by Tim Lamm.

8. Colours - Sundown (Beko)
Excellent new single on the Beko Digital Singles label which releases a new single every week. This week it's the turn of Australian band Colours.

Phantom Cover Art

9. Big Troubles - Phantom (Shaking Through)
A new track from the New Jersey band who gave us their superb debut album "Worry" last year. The band are currently on tour around the UK.

31st May - London, Hoxton Bar & Kitchen
1st June - London, The City Arts & Music Project (with Ducktails)
2nd June - Sheffield, The Harley (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
3rd June - Glasgow, Captains Rest
4th June - Aberdeen, The Tunnels (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
5th June - Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete's (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
6th June - Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
7th June - Dublin, Workmans Club (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
8th June - Manchester - The Deaf Institute (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
9th June - Cambridge, Portland Arms (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
11th June - Amsterdam, De Nieuwe Anita (With Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
12th June - Brussels, Ancienne Belgique (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
16th June - Lisbon, ZDB (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)
17th June - Guimaraes, Centro Cultural Vila Flor (with Julian Lynch & Ducktails)

10. Teen Daze - Surface (Waaga)
Taken from the forthcoming "Silent Planet" E.P. which will be released on 9th August on Waaga.


11. Fair Oh's - Summer Lake (Lefse)
This is a track from the London bands debut album "Everything Is Dancing" which will be released on Lefse Records on 26th July.

12. King Post Kitsch - Don't You Touch My Fucking Honeytone (Song By Toad)
This is the title track from a seven inch single on Song By Toad Record which features four new tracks by Glasgow band King Post Kitsch. 

No comments:

Post a Comment