Saturday, May 07, 2011

The Whatevers - City Lights Fade

This is the latest free single from the wonderful February Records and what a treat it is. It's the first material I've heard from Leeds band The Whatevers but I'm hoping this will be just the beginning. It wouldn't hurt them to drive twenty miles up the road to York to play a couple of gigs either. This is what the February Records website has to say about them.

"The Whatevers are a pop band from Leeds in the north of England. Mike writes the songs and Kate sings them. Al plays bass guitar.

Mike and Kate met at school. Kate had shaved her head to shock the locals. Mike had just split up with the only other indie punk girl in their small town, so it was natural they would become boyfriend and girlfriend. Kate would buy the NME and Mike would buy the Melody Maker and they would swap halfway through the week and cut the pictures out and practice interview techniques for the day they formed a famous indie band. Mike was in a band called Sparkling Tarts and they played at the local youth club with Kate’s band. After they had broken each others heart for about 15 years, Mike finally had enough songs and they formed The Whatevers. Al was one of their biggest fans, so they asked him to join the band.

The Whatevers sing mainly about their relationship history, radical leftist politics, not being able to get out of bed and conversations about sex that they have had at bus stops.

“City Lights Fade” is a picture-perfect example of lo-fi boy/girl bedroom pop. Jangling guitars, charming vocals and irreverent lyrics pervade these five songs. The band channels another boy/girl group, Eux Autres, for their cover of “Anne Boleyn.”"

                                                                      Download Zip File

 1. City Lights Fade
2. Everything But The Kitchen Sink Drama
3. The Second Best Of The Whatevers
4. Why Girlfriends Are Better Than Guitars
5. Anne Boleyn

No comments:

Post a Comment