Sunday, February 13, 2011

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Nine)

Download Zip File

1. Quiet Lights - No More Canyons (Old Flame)
This is a track from the forthcoming seven inch single by the Brooklyn band. The vinyl will be released on 15th February on Old Flame Records and I'm told we can look forward to an album in the spring.

2. Puro Instinct - Lost At Sea (Mexican Summer)
From what I believe to be their second album. "Headbangers In Exctacy" is superb and will be available soon on the increasingly sexy Mexican Summer label who seem to be putting together a quite awesome roster of bands at the moment.

Propeller Versus Wings
3. Zoey Van Goey - Sackville Sun (Chemikal Underground)
Another track from the Scottish bands second album "Propeller Versus Wings" which is relesed this week on Chemikal Underground. I was hoping to be able to bring you exiting news of a tour but it appears I must have imagined that after a bottle of wine. There are three gigs coming up however including a Leeds show which I just might be able to make.

19th February - Liverpool, Zanzibar
20th February - London, The Slaughtered Lamb
21st February - Leeds, Orporto

4. Hunters - Deadbeat (Swill Children)
This track comes from a seven inch single which Hunters share with Dead Wife.

Seminal Live
5. The Fall - Deadbeat Decendant (Beggars Banquet)
...well I bet you didn't see that one coming. Taken from the 1989 album "Seminal Live".

He Gets Me High
6. Dum Dum Girls - He Gets Me High (Sub Pop)    
I'm probably the last person in the world to get into Dum Dum Girls. I completely missed their debut album last year and although people kept banging on about them they somehow slipped through a gaping hole in the net. Anyway this is the title track from the new E.P. which features three new tracks and a cover of The Smiths "There Is A Light That Never Goes Out". The band have loads of gigs coming up including some in the UK next month. Check out their Myspace for more details.

Sarah June: Beneath Black Robes
7. Sarah June - Run Run (Silber)
This is the first track on the new Sarah June album "Beneath Black Robes" which is basically a remix album from Sarah's 2010 album "In Black Robes". As with most remix albums it's a bit hit and miss but there are some realy good tracks on here and the better news is that the good folk at Silber Records are giving this album away as a free download which you can get HERE.

8. Dressed In Wires - A Cut On My Tongue (Bear With Me)
Another track from the great album "When That Wicked King Was Slain, The Dogs, Did They Not Lick His Blood?" which was released on 14th February. There is a very limited edition of twenty five copies which come in the form of a hand sewn sixteen page booklet and they are probably all gone already but if you see one snap it up (and send it to me).

Fractals Cover Art

9. Ports Of Call - Selective Memory Machine (Self Released)
It seems like a hell of a long time since Ports Of Call last entertained us. It was actually back in 2008 with their debut album "Like Thieves" tracks from which were featured on this site. Not to worry though because a mere three years later they're back with a new E.P. "Fractals" contains five brand new tracks and can be downloaded from the bands Bandcamp Page as seems pretty much the norm these days. I hope we don't have to wait another three years before we see them again.

Heavenly - She Says

10. Heavenly - Escort Crash On Marston Street (K)
No real reason for including this other than I was listening to it the other day and thought it was well worth hearing again. Released in 1991 on K Records and only available in the UK as a rather expensive import seven inch.

Owe No Homage Unto The Sun Cover Art
11. Sonnet LVIII - Oceans (And Blue Skies) (Self Released)
I really am enjoying this album at the moment. It's called "Owe No Homage To The Sun" and can be downloaded for free further down this page. Possibly the best band in The Philippines at the moment.

12. Lower Heaven - Wilderness (Self Released)
My favourite track on the American bands new album "All We Have Is Today" which is the follow-up to their 2008 debut "Ashes".