Friday, January 28, 2011

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Seven)

Download Zip File

Should Have - Single, Cloud Nothings

1. Cloud Nothings - Should Have (Carpark Records)
This is the first taster from Cloud Nothings debut full length which will be released next week.

2. Zu - Chthonian (James Plotkin Remix)
This record is the sound of pure evil, well it makes the cats run off anyway. The original version of Chthonian can be found on Zu's album "Carboiferous" but this remix by James Plotkin has actually improved the track in my opinion.

White Laces - White Laces (EP) (2011)

3. White Laces - Motorik Twilight (Self Released)
This comes from an E.P. which has been kicking around in my inbox for a while which is a bit of a shame because it's great. Five tracks, each one as good as this.

4. Libyans - Lifeline (Sorry State)
Taken from the album "A Common Place" which is the first full length by the Boston band. There is a limited run of 218 copies on clear vinyl which you get if you order direct from the label.

5. Lockerbie - Sumar (Intro) (Bad Panda)
More moments of loveliness brought to us from Bad Panda. This week it comes from Icelandic artist Lockerbie and is part of a three track E.P. which you can download for free from the Bad Panda website.

Horse Heaven Cover Art

6. Creepoid - Dream Out (Self Released)
I know absolutely nothing about Creepoid other than their debut album "Horse Heaven" is a bit bloody good and you can buy it from their bandcamp page for $10.  This is one of the tracks I keep coming back to.

7. A Classic Education - I Lost Time (Lefse)
Taken from the Italian bands "Hey There Stranger" E.P. which is available now on Lefse Records.

The Return Cover Art

8. Darren Hayman - The Return (Self Released)
Darren Hayman's "January Songs" project continues. For those of you unaware of this it basically involves Darren churning out a song every day in month of January and I have to sat the vast majority so far have been great. I hope the whole lot are released as an album at some point in the not too distant future. The songs can be downloaded from Darren's Soundcloud Page HERE. The songs only stay free for a couple of days after which you will need to go to Darren's bandcamp page where they are all available for £1 each.

9. Eels On Heels - N (Self Released)
This track is taken from the Italian band's ne E.P. which is called the "Letters E.P.". It contains three tracks each of which are... well, letters. This is track "N" the others being "Y" and "G". Apparently this is their second E.P. and I don't think I'll sleep soundly until I'm in possession of their first one.

10. Vaccine - Hell On Earth (Painkiller)
This is a track from a 5" single on Painkiller records. At just twenty four seconds it's not the shortest of the five tracks on this E.P. which can be purchased from the Painkiller Records website.

Propeller Versus Wings

11. Zoey Van Goey - You Told The Drunks I Knew Karate (Chemikal Underground)
This is terrific, it comes from the forthcoming second album by probably the best band in Scotland at the moment. This is one of the tracks I keep playing in the car but really there isn't an even slightly weak track on the record. "Propeller Versus Wings" will be released on the legendary Chemikal Underground label on 14th February.

The Big Roar

12. The Joy Formidable - The Magnifying Glass (Atlantic)
The new Joy Formidable album is finally here. It feels like a lifetime has passed since their brilliant debut in the shape of "A Balloon Called Moaning". Since then they've being chased around the country by just about every music journalist worth their salt. Perhaps "The Big Roar" has taken longer than it might have because the band seem to be almost constantly on the road. Having said that they are spectacular live and hopefully I'll get the chance to witness them again before the year is out and this record is topping all of the end of year lists.

1 comment: