Friday, January 07, 2011

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Four)

1. Blissed Out - Rain Steam (Mirror Universe)
I think most would agree that Blissed Out isn't the best name for a band but nevertheless this Blissed Out have produced a rather good E.P. It's called "White Triangle" and contains seven tracks a bit like this one. The problem you may encounter is that it's only on cassette and there are only 100 copies in existence.

2. Deerhoof - Sealed With A Kiss (Version) (Someone Good)
This is one side of a seven inch single which Deerhoof share with Oneone. This is a Japanese release, according to some online retailers "super limited" but I don't know exactly how many there are, mainly because the Someone Good website is currently down and no-one has told me. What I will say though is that this is well worth having and you should order yours sooner rather than later.

Sauna EP
3. Vondelpark - Hippodrome (R&S)
Taken from the "Sauna E.P." which is available now on 12" through R&S.

Smurf's up EP Cover Art
4. Johnny Hawaii - The Lonely Smurfer (Bad Panda)
This is the latest offering from Bad Panda who have been releasing track every week throughout 2010 with an amazingly high standard. Hopefully 2011 will be just as successful for the Panda crew. This weeks track is by French artist Johnny Hawaii and comes from his "Smurf's Up" E.P. which can be downloaded in full from his Bandcamp page.

Thorn1 - So Far as Fast

5. Thorn1 - Snow Is Abstract (Silber)
Another track from the album "So Far As Fast" which is available now through Silber.

6. Dressed In Wires - Wide On (Radio Edit) (Self Released)
If you've been paying attention you might recall I played a track from the new Dressed In Wires album a couple of weeks ago. This track is not on it, in fact this track is part of a completely different release. Now normally I steer well clear of "radio edits" because I don't like listening to truncated versions of songs but the full version of this is forty five minutes long and although I would love to share it with you it's just a little bit too long to be included in a Fodder. This version is actually quite tame compared with the full monster but is nevertheless excellent. It's part of a release entitled "C:\>ninety.exe" yes that really is the title. It comprises of two tracks both of which are almost exactly forty five minutes in length because the idea is that you'll feel the urge to transfer them onto a C90 cassette. I'm told that both track will be available for free download from HERE for one week only from 3rd January after which you will be required to part with a small amount of money.

7. Two If By The Sea - Apron Of Flowers (February)
This track is taken from the bands debut five track E.P. which will be released on 10th January through February Records.

Sugar Cover Art

8. The Sunshine Factory - Smile (Self Released)
Taken from the album "Sugar" which can be purchased from their Bandcamp Page along with their debut album "Vintage Revolution" which I must confess to not having heard yet.

Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will

9. Mogwai - San Pedro (Rock Action)
This is one of my favorite tracks from the new album "Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will" which will be released on 14th February on the bands own Rock Action label unless you happen to live in North America in which case it will be on Sub Pop. I'm told there will be a limited edition version which includes a bonus CD featuring a track called "The Singing Mountain" which was recorded for Douglas Gordon and Olaf Nicolai's "Monument For Forgotten Future" installation in Essen, Germany.

Today Cover Art

10. White Wishes - Drops (Self Released)
Taken from the superb "Today E.P." which you can download in full further down this page.

11. Dirty Beaches - A Hundred Highways (Self Released)
Taken from the album "Badlands" which will be released 19th March. Apparently the concept behind "Badlands" is that of a man obsessed by the road and I think you can hear that. This album really reminds me of The Flaming Stars early records. I have quite a few Flaming Stars 7"s somewhere I must try and find them.

A Touch Of Joy, A Touch Of Sadness
12. Presents For Sally - I Don't Know Why (Laser Ghost)
This is a track from the debut album by Presents For Sally. It was released in November but I've only just got my clammy paws on a copy. Very nice indeed.

1 comment: