Friday, January 14, 2011

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Five)

Cape Dory

1. Tennis - Cape Dory (Fat Possum)
This is the title track from the debut album by Tennis. "Cape Dory" will be released on Fat Possum on 18th January.

2. Sleeping At Last - January White (Self Released)
This is the first release in Sleeping At Last's "Yearbook" series which basically entails a new E.P. every month throughout the year. Bizarrely the series appears to have begun last October which means I've missed three E.P.s already. This, fairly obviously is January's issue.

3. Nic Bommarito - T27 (Bad Panda)
This is the longest track I've posted here for quite some time. It's the first offering of 2011 from the Bad Panda crew and comes from Rhode Island resident Nic Bommarito.
"The title of the track “T27″ is the number of the train from Beijing to Lhasa.  It’s very long, about 48 hours and when I rode it I had no place to sleep so by the end I would drift in and out.  I think the song is a bit like that train ride: a bit too long, sometimes noisy, sometimes boring, but a pleasant experience overall."

Through The Trees

4. Family Of The Year - Chugjug (Self Released)
Taken from the Californian band's new digital E.P. "Through The Trees" which can be purchased for a mere $4 from the bands website HERE.

5. Secret Shine - Hole In Your Heart (Secret Shine)
Taken from the Bristol bands excellent new album "The Beginning And The End". I'm not sure where you can actually purchase it from at the moment but I'm sure it will become more easily available soon.


6. Tape Deck Mountain - It Goes Down (Lefse)
This track is taken from the "Secret Serf" E.P. which is released on Lefse Records this week.

La Sera - Never Come Around [7-inch] (Cover Artwork)

7. La Sera - Never Come Around (Hardly Art)
La Sera is the new project for Vivian Girls' Katy Goodman. I think this 7" has been around for a couple of months now but I think I might have overlooked it. There is going to be an album sometime in the next couple of months, also on Hardly Art records and I'm really looking forward to that.

8. The Popguns - Waiting For The Winter (Midnight Music)
I used to love this record. Still sounds pretty good today actually. It was one of those one sided 7" singles that Midnight Music were so good at releasing around 1989/1990. If I remember correctly they all cost £1. and were all housed in these blue company sleeves which were made of some of the thinnest paper known to mankind.

9. Milk Music - Fertile Ground (Self Released)
Milk Music are completely new on me. I think this is their first release but normally when I say that it turns out the band have been putting stuff out for years. What I can tell you with some certainty however is that the band come from Washington D.C. and this track comes from their six track E.P. "Beyond Living" which is grindingly beautiful. I read a review somewhere which likened the band to the usual suspects, Dinosaur Jr, Sebadoh and so on but I disagree. Clearly Milk Music appreciate the value of a firmly struck guitar and that's all you need to know really. I'm not sure how you can furnish yourself with one of these life enhancing items but if you send your enquiries to you will hopefully get all the information you need.

Deerhoof Vs. Evil
10. Deerhoof - No One Asked To Dance (ATP)
Taken from the new (11th) Deerhoof album "Deerhoof Vs Evil" which will be released in the UK on ATP on 24th January. Outside the UK it will be released on Polyvinyl who are issuing 2000 on lovely pink vinyl.

Snuggle Bunnies Cover Art
11. Elika - Near You (Self Released)
This is a track from Elika's "Snuggle Bunnnies" album which was released a couple of months ago and I really should have played more. You can download "Snuggle Bunnies" for a mere $5 from the Brooklyn outfit's Bandcamp page.

12. BvDub - Anyone Who Remembered You Is Gone (Styrax)
Another rather long track to end this weeks Fodder. This track comes from a four track E.P. called "The Silent Reign" which comes as two lovely 12" singles. I really do recommend you visit the Styrax Records website and improve your life by taking ownership of some of these. 

1 comment: