Sunday, December 19, 2010

Pod Fodder (Volume One Hundred And Three)

1. Secret Shine - No More Inside (Secret Shine)
This seems to have been a very long time in coming. The new Secret Shine album is finally finished and will be released on Christmas Day. It's called "The Beginning And The End" and features twelve brand new songs including this one.

2. Galaxian - A Fighter (Transient Force)
Taken from the album "Repent" which is available now on Transient Force records.

3. Neon Blud - Untitled (Drugged Conscience)
This is actually two tracks but they join together so well and are both untitled so it seemed a shame to separate them. They form the b-side of the new Neon Blud 12" and as I hope you'll agree sound pretty spectacular. The a-side is a track called "Bleed Blud" which is also well worth thirteen minutes of your time.

4. Jesu - Christmas (Avalanche)
This is a track from the first digital only single by Jesu. Apparently the possibility exists that there could be a limited vinyl run next year. The "Christmas E.P." is basically three versions of the title track remixed by Pale Sketcher and a fifteen minute epic by Final. This is the original version and in my opinion the best.

5. Dressed In Wires - Operation Aww (Bear With Me)
This track is taken from one of three new releases by Dressed In Wires. "When That Wicked King King Was Slain, The Dogs, Did They Not Lick His Blood?" is the rather catchy title of the new album which will be released in February and from it this is a track which I should warn could cause distress to some of the more sensitive souls amongst you. If this is the case I suggest laying on your back in a quiet room with broad beans inserted into each nostril reciting ancient Hindu mantras. You'll soon feel better. And by the way you will certainly be hearing a lot more from Dressed In Wires on this site.

6. Southern Shores - Grand Comore (Bad Panda)
This weeks offering from the Bad Panda crew is by Canadian duo Southern Shores. Bad Panda have issued tracks just about every week this year and if you want to investigate further then pop over to the Bad Panda website where you can download their free 2010 sampler which features eighteen of the bands they have featured this year.

Photo of thedo
7. The Do - Too Insistent (Cinq 7/Wagram)
Taken from the album "Slippery Slope" which has been one of the best surprises of the week. It's a track from the new E.P. by The Do who you may remember released a great album called "A Mouthful" a couple of years ago. I don't have a lot of information  but I think there is a new album ready to go and I for one can't wait to hear it.

8. Minks - Juniper (Captured Tracks)
Another track from the excellent debut album by Minks which will be released on Captured Tracks on 11th January.

9. Moon Wiring Club - ... And For My Next Trick (Gecophonic)
I just can't stop listening to this album at the moment. Possibly my favourite record of the year but then I say that at least once a week about different records. The album is called "A Spare Tabby At The Cats Wedding" and really needs to live in your ipod.

10. Sail A Whale - Event (Sincerely Yours/Acephale)
Taken from the Swedish outfit's new 12" "A Documentation" which is available now on Sincerely Yours.

Sophomore Release
11. Bubblegum Lemonade - Living For Today (Matinee)
I had almost forgotten there was a new Bubblegum Lemonade album around. It's called "Somophore Release" and is exactly that  following the impressive "Doubleplusgood" record a couple of years ago.

Solar Temple Suicides - Sentinels of the Heliosphere
12. Solar Temple Suicides - Angel (Sleepy)
This is a track from the new Solar Temple Suicides album "Sentinels Of The Heliospere" which can be purchased from the Sleepy records website.

1 comment: