Friday, September 24, 2010

Pod Fodder (Volume Ninety One)

1. Rokhausen - Mad Max Ending/Hamburger Hellhole 
There's no better way to start a Fodder than with a song about mad computers which are fed people!

2. Banjo Or Freakout - Over There (Lefse)
This is a track from a record called "Way Slow Volume One" which features seven tracks by Banjo Or Freakout. This is what the press had to say...

"Way Slow is a new series curated by Lefse Records. While maintaining the basic structures of a formal record label, they are embracing creativity in everything from artist sound to packaging. Each release will be a unique creation from start to finish. Many of the artists are going to be releasing material that is well outside of their normal sound, some will be collaborations, some will be from parts of the world where most of us will never see. Alongside digital downloads, they will be offering limited edition cd’s, cassettes, and even vinyl in some cases. All physical products will be hand wrapped/sewn/carved individually for every release and presented as a heartwarming package of beautiful sound.

Volume 1 comes from Banjo or Freakout on October 12th (pre-order it here) and will continue indefinitely. Other artists already on board are: Ganglians, Sonny Smith, Houses/Teen Daze, Phaseone, The Traditionist, Aloha Tigers, Sunnybrook, Algodon Egipcio, Brothertiger, Tape Deck Mountain, Solter, and Black Glass.
 BROADCAST & THE FOCUS GROUP - Study Series 04: Familiar Shapes and Noises, Ghost Box 
3. Broadcast & The Focus Group - Inside Out (Ghost Box)
The latest offering in the study series of 7" singles is this offering from Broadcast & The Focus Group. It contains three tracks all of which are simply delightful.

BAD POP Cover Art 
4. Soft Powers - Who Is Tim Durmah? (Self Released)
Sometimes I get sent digital versions of records with absolutely no information whatsoever and this is one of those occasions. I must admit I kind of like it that way because it buts some of the mystery back into music if you don't know much about what you're listening to just like years ago when you could walk into an independent record shop and purchase a bag full of obscure American import seven inch singles and not know anything about any of the bands involved. I think my inspiration for buying vinyl was either an interesting  sleeve or some kind of coloured vinyl. I have always been a bit of a sucker for that nice marble effect which looks so splendid on the turntable.
This is a track by Soft Powers and comes from an album called "Bad Pop" which you will be delighted to learn you can download in full and for free from their Bandcamp page.

5. Com Truise - BASF Ace (Self Released)
Taken from the "Cyanide Sisters" E.P. which you can download in full from the Com Truise website HERE.

6. RocketNumberNine - You Reflect Me (Bad Panda)
This weeks offering from the nice people at Bad Panda is a track by brothers Ben and Tom page who also play in Rothko. The track is actually the title track comes from the duo's debut album which is available now on Trace Recordings. Check out their Myspace for forthcoming live dates including a mouth watering event with Four Tet called The Warehouse Project which takes place in Manchester in November.

7. Dinosaur Jr - Freak Scene (SST)
No particular reason for playing this. I was listening to Dinosaur Jr's "Bug" album from 1988 earlier this week and thought some of you might like to hear this fine piece of insolence again.

Helvetica Cover Art
8. Time Wharp - A Doll, Fiddle Her  (Self Released)
Taken from the album "Helvetica" which I know absolutely nothing about apart from it sounds great, the sleeve gives me a headache and you can get it from HERE.

Ten Things to do with Ninety Thousand Sequins Cover Art 
9. The Seagreen Incorruptible - Confetti (Self Released)
A certain Mr Vincent commented last week that I was putting too many commercial sounding records in Fodders these days. He certainly can't use that argument this week. This track is taken from the new album by Chicago weirdos The Seagreen Incorruptible. It's called  "10 Things To Do With 90'000 Sequins" and is likely to be polluting my ipod for some time to come.

10. Secret Cities - You Don't Know (Western Vinyl)
This track is one of two on the new Secret Cities 7" single which is available now on Western Vinyl. 

11. Abbey GoGo - Louder Than Dreams (Double Phantom)
This is a track from Abby GoGo's debut album which will be released on Double Phantom Records on 30th November.