Saturday, June 05, 2010

Pod Fodder (Volume Seventy Six)

1. John Mouse - Sex With You (Crocfinger)
This track comes from the new John Mouse album "Humber Dogger Forties" which has just been released on   
Crocfinger Records. I know John Mouse has been putting stuff out for years but this is the first time he's really grabbed my attention. It's the song titles as much as anything else. I mean who can resist an album which contains titles like "By Cardiff Station I Sat Down And Wept" and "Shinobi Vs My Little Pony". Fortunately the titles are justified by good tunes and I'm sure you'll be hearing more from Mr Mouse on this site in the not too distant future.

2. Nq - Within Reach (Bad Panda)
This is actually quite disturbing if you listen to it at loud volume. It contains some sounds which I for one have never heard on record before. Really good but not for the faint of heart.

Product Details
 3. Liars - Pleasure Is Boss (Mute)
This is one of the tracks on the new Liars EP "The Overachievers" which is the second single released from the bands fifth album "Sisterworld".

4. Scorn - Take Someones Eye Out (Ohm Resistance)
Taken from the new album "Refuse; Start Fires".

5. Whirl - Blue (Self Released)
You might remember we featured Whirl a couple of months ago with a track from their excellent demo. Well now the Californian band have returned with a full EP/mini album thingy which is all top notch stuff. If you pop over to the bands Myspace page you can download the EP for free.

6. Pitch Twit - Impetus (Original Mix) (Sic Outfit)
This is the latest release by Pitch Twit on the equally lively Sic Outfit label which is actually run by Tom Sidebottom who is Mr Twit and I think this is possibly his best release to date. It's called the Impetus EP and features two mixes of the title track. The best news of all though is that the EP is completely free and can be downloaded HERE.

Product Details 
7. A Place To Bury Strangers - Ego Death (Radio Edit) (Mute)
This is the title track from the new A Place To Bury Strangers EP which was released through Mute last week. I don't usually go for radio edits but I genuinely prefer this one. It's a five track EP and if you liked their recent "Exploding Head" album this will be right up your passage.

8. Emeralds - Science Centre (Editions Mego)
This is a track from one of two 7" singles by Emeralds which are available at the moment. I've heard they are just the first two releases in a series of eight but until I get some confirmation of that it will remain a filthy rumour that I hope is true.

Oneohtrix Point Never - Returnal CD Cover Art 
9. Oneohtrix Point Never - Returnal (Editions Mego)
This is one of the highlights of the week for me. I don't know anything about it apart from the band come from Austria (probably) and this is the title track from an album which has been on my ipod for the last few days. There's just something about it I can't quite put my finger on but whatever it is I'd like a bit more. 

Captured From Static 
10. Northcape - Indigo Line (Sun Sea Sky)
This is taken from the superb new record by Northscape which is available through Sun Sea Sky. If blissed out electronic gubbins is your thing then "Captured From Static" is a record you can't really afford to miss. Lovely.

1 comment: