Friday, June 11, 2010

Pod Fodder (Volume Seventy Seven)

Product Details

1. School Of Seven Bells - Windstorm (A Place To Bury Strangers Remix) (Full Time Hobby)
This is the A Place To Bury Strangers remix of the new School Of Seven Bells single which was released a couple of weeks ago. It's the first taster from the New York bands new album "Disconnected From Desire" which will be released in the UK on 13th July (the day before my birthday).

12th July - Amsterdam, Paradiso
13th July - Hamburg, Molotow
18th July - Bristol, Thelka
19th July - Manchester, Ruby Lounge
20th July - London, Scala
30th July - Woodford, Australia - Splendour In The Grass Festival

Product Details 
2. Ceremony - M.C.D.F. (Bridge Nine)
Not to be confused with the Ceremony who have recently brought us the brilliant "Rocket Fire" album, this band come from California and are rather different to their namesakes. The album is called "Rohnert Park" and was released on Bridge Nine last week. I'm just not hearing enough of this sort of thing at the moment.

The Sleeper Must Awaken 
3. Ships On Fire - Hunter Seeker (Sun Sea Sky)
This track comes from a simply superb album, in fact I would go as far as to say the best ambient record I've heard so far this year. It's called "The Sleeper Must Awaken" and contains five lumps of swirling perfection. The nice people at Sun Sea Sky Productions have kindly made the whole thing available as a free download which you can possess simply by going HERE

 4. The Wankys - Don't Make Me Laugh (Katorka Works/SPHC)
This'll wake you up if you started drifting off during that last track. It comes from a seven inch E.P. which The Wankys share with the equally well named Lotus Fucker a track from whom may well be in next weeks Fodder unless of course I forget in which case it won't. If you want to take ownership of one of these fine items (and lets face it it's worth it just for the sleeve) just pop over HERE and part with four and a half dollars of your hard earned.

Product Details 
5. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart - Say No To Love (Slumberland/Fortuna Pop)
The Pains are back after a brilliant year last year in which they gave us one of the finest debut albums in recent years. I'm pleased to hear they haven't fallen into the trap so many bands have in the past of trying to be a bit too clever and change things. This track which is taken from their forthcoming seven inch on Slumberland would have sounded fine on last years self titled classic. They seem to find it almost impossible to write a poor tune and long may it continue. All copies of the single are pressed on what Slumberland call sea foam green vinyl and you just know it's going to look as good as it sounds.

6. End's Not Near - Indian Summer (Bad Panda)
The latest offering from the Bad Panda crew is a work of pure beauty. The press release describes it as "Japanese Minimalism, Clever Sampling, Happy Trumpet" which got me thinking I think I prefer a slightly more grumpy trumpet if I'm honest.
I have tried to find out more about this band but have failed spectacularly to uncover anything at all. Great track though. Actually I've just noticed their is a short interview with Morisun who appears to be the person behind the sound on the Bad Panda website. Should have looked there first really.

Do You Want A Boyfriend? 
7. Tender Trap - Do You Want A Boyfriend (Slumberland)
A superb new single from Amelia and the gang. It's the first offering from the forthcoming album "Dansette Dansette" which I'm really looking forward to hearing.

8. Stripmall Architecture - Pripyat (Mascara Palin Remix)

Brothertiger - Vision Tunnels (EP) 
9. Brothertiger - Feel (Self Released)
This comes from an E.P. called "Vision Tunnels". According to Brothertiger's Myspace page they only have twenty copies of the E.P. left and that was a couple of weeks ago so if you're tempted you had better get yourself into gear.

10. Elephant Stone - Oh Heartbreaker (Degree Music)
Taken from the new album "The Seven Seas".