Saturday, September 19, 2009

Pod Fodder (Volume Fifty Four)

1. Vowels - Two Wires (Loaf)
Taken from the new album "The Pattern Prism" which was released last week through Loaf Records.

2. Fools Gold - Suprise Hotel (Iamsound)
This is the track I keep coming back to on the new Fools Gold album. To be honest the rest of the album is disappointing but this track is top quality.

3. Lighting Bolt - The Sublime Freak (Load) I always get a little bit excited when a new Lightning Bolt record lands on my doormat. The new album "Earthly Delights" will be released through Load on 12th October and is an absolute treat. I'm not sure what old style thrash fans will make of it but the band have gone a little bit more experimental and I think they sound great. I could have sworn I played a track from this record a couple of weeks ago but looking back through previous track listings it appears that I forgot so it's time to put that right.

4. Vivian Girls - Tension (In The Red)
This track comes from the second Vivian Girls album "Everything Went Wrong" which will be available as of this very week.

5. The Ravonettes - Gone Forever (Vice)
For some reason The Ravonettes seem to have passed me by. I do quite like the new album though. It's called "In & Out Of Control" and will be released through Vice next month.

6. Altair Nouveau - Death on Four Wheels (E-Music)
Taken from the "Dark Energy" EP which as far as I can see is only available from E-Music.

7. Fuck Buttons - Space Mountain (ATP)
Yes this is it, the one you've been waiting for. I was a bit apprehensive about listening to the new Fuck Buttons album because I've been looking forward to it all year and really didn't want to be disappointed. I needn't have worried because the Bristol duo have made a record that beats the living shit out of anything in it's path. "Tarot Sport" is a monster and probably the best record of 2009. I almost hope Fuck Buttons call it a day now because they surely can't improve on this. "Tarot Sport" wil be released through ATP on 5th October.

8. Kurt Vile - Overnite Religion (Matador)
Taken from the album "Childish Prodigy" which will be released through Matador on 5th October.

9. The Platers - Let's Take The World Tonight, Johnny (Indie MP3)
This track comes from the debut EP by London based band The Platers. The record is called "The Second Between Spark And Flame" EP and features five tracks. It's also the latest release on the superb Indie MP3 label and is available from this week as a limited edition CD and of course all of the really boring digital formats of which I'm still not convinced, which is really strange from someone who puts together a digital playlist every week. I guess I like to have something I can hold, like a seven inch slab of plastic.....or a beer.....

10. Squishy Squid - Anorexia (Las Vegas)
Taken from the Austrian bands debut album "Bonjour Tristesse".

11. The Pastels & Tenniscoats - About You (Domino)
This track comes from the collaboration album Two Sunsets which I've been looking forward to for some time. It's available from this week and well worth the effort.

12. Micah P. Hinson - Slow & Steady (Full Time Hobby)
Taken from the album "All Dressed Up & Smelling Of Strangers" which was released by London based label Full Time Hobby this very week.

13. Sennen - Bizarre Love Triangle (Hungry Audio)
The last track in this weeks Fodder comes from Sennen who you might remember provided us with a rather good album called "Where The Light Gets In" some time ago. Well they're back with a new EP called "Destroy Us" which will be released through Hungry Audio on 3rd November and yes it is THAT song. Sorry about the lowish bit rate on this track but that's how it was sent and therefore not my fault (just thought I'd mention it).

1 comment: