Thursday, May 11, 2006

Burning World #6

The long awaited new single from Camera Obscura hits the shops this week. "Lloyd I'm Ready To Be Heartbroken" is another perfect pop gem from the Camera's and their new album "Let's Get Out Of This Country" will be released in early June. I'll play a track from it on the podcast next week.

Another release of note this week is a compilation on Northern Star Records called Psychedelica Volume One. Not the most catchy name for a record granted but this is definitely the best comp I've heard so far this year. The contribution from The Electric Mainline is without doubt one of the highlights of the album and I can't wait to hear their album which will hopefully be completed soon.

Four Tet have just released the follow up to last years "Everything Ecstatic" album. It's called "Everything Ecstatic Part 2" oddly enough and is worth a purchase just for the first track. A sixteen minute journey through avante gard genius.

Burning World #6

The KBC - Pride Before The Fall (High Voltage)
Camera Obscura - Lloyd, I'm Ready To Be Heartbroken (Elefant)
Whirlwind Heat - Slugger (Brille)
The Futureheads - Decent Days & Nights (Shy Child Remix) (W/L)
Echo Is Your Love - Three Ropes (Run Out)
The Chapman Family - You Do Something (Demo)
God Is An Astronaut - Frozen Twilight (Revive)
The Hot Puppies - The Girl Who Was Too Beautiful (Fierce Panda)
Little Man Tate - Young Offenders (Yellow Van)
Four Tet - Sun, Drums & Soil (Domino)
Boards Of Canada - Side Drive (Warp)
The Electric Mainline - We Are Now (Northern Star)
Elle Milano - Swearing's For Art Students (Brighton Electric Music)